Blog Brok-air Training


Why it is important to choose EASA Part 147 approved course

In previous posts we have covered the European standards that govern the Basic Training to get an Aircraft Maintenance License as well as those that govern the Type Rating Training to become an expert in the aircraft of choice. The most important standards are EASA Part 66 and EASA Part 147.

In short, EASA Part 66 covers all aspects related to the training itself and EASA Part 147 deals with the standards to be followed by the training centre that delivers such training. Today we are going to delve into the latter, EASA Part 147, and how it relates to your type training. 

What is an EASA Part 147 approved course?

EASA Part-147 is a section within the European Standard that covers all guidelines to be followed in aviation, focused on safety and airworthiness. It describes the training standards that an organisation has to achieve in order to become one of the approved training organisations and be able to deliver training and examinations against EASA Part-66. 

EASA Part 147 approved courses are the trainings required in order to add a specialization in an aircraft type to your aircraft maintenance licence. By completing an EASA Part 147 approved course of aircraft maintenance type training, you will be able to become certifying staff on that particular aircraft type at an aircraft maintenance organisation. After completing your Basic Training, you get your Aircraft Maintenance Licence, which is a general license to provide maintenance service to aircrafts. 

A Type Training is the natural step to follow in your career path after getting your AML and gained some relevant maintenance experience. You will then be able to service not only all aircrafts in general but you’ll become an expert in the aircraft on which you complete your Type Training. For example, you can go for an A320 Type Rating Training, or a Boeing 737 Type Training, just to name the two most demanded aircrafts models in the nowadays market. 

Free list: "Top 10 aircraft maintenance training centres approved by Easa Part  147 in Europe" >> Download Now

What topics are covered in an EASA Part 147 type training course?


According to EASA Part-147 regulations, aircraft type trainings are divided into 2 sections: the theoretical and the practical part. The theory covers an overview of the airframe, specific aircraft engine, systems and generation a basic overview of controls, indicators, principal components, servicing and minor troubleshooting, plus a detailed description, operation, and location of components, their removal/installation, and the troubleshooting procedures to follow in accordance to the maintenance manual. 

As you can imagine, the practical part takes you away from books and presentations and into the aircraft for real. You are able to put into practice all knowledge acquired with on-hands practical experience. The duration of each of the Type Training sections may vary according to the complexity of the aircraft type of choice. But, generally speaking, theoretical trainings are completed within 25 training days, and practical trainings take approximately 10 days.


Boosting your career with Type Training


It is now probably obvious to you that once you’ve mastered all the aspects mentioned above, your career gets a boost, not only salary-wise but also in terms of the challenges you are going to be faced with in your daily work. Becoming an expert in one aircraft in particular brings along a lot of benefits both professionally and personally

But, to the point, why is it important to choose an EASA Part-147 approved course? There are many aspects affected by this decision. As any other profession, training is crucial, so the quality of it makes the difference. One of the key aspects to consider is that an EASA Part-147 approved centre offers you the possibility to work all around the world. 

If you choose a local training centre, then your certification is perfectly valid but only to work at your location. That means that in a global world, if you want to move to another country and find work there, you will have to make the whole training again, even if you have years of experience working with a particular aircraft model. 

Getting your training at an approved centre means that you are being trained with materials and by people that have been -and constantly are- evaluated by the most important European entity in charge of aircraft safety and airworthiness: European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA). This is a guarantee of quality, accuracy, and up-to-date training materials. 
For further information on how to make this decision, check out our quick guide on what aspects to consider when choosing your EASA Part-147 approved training course and start your online research to find the best centre for you across the globe.

New call-to-action

Type Training Type Training centre EASA Part 147

    Blog Suscription

    Nuevo llamado a la acción